Msemmen – (Moroccan Pancake)

Bismillah ir-Rahman ir-Rahim (In the name of Allah)

EID Mubarak (Blessed Eid)

The last day of Ramadan, Inshallah we will celebrate the end of fasting in a few short hours. The holiday of Eid Al Fitr (the Festival of Fast-Breaking) will begin early this morning in the Masjid.

Yesterday,  I attempted to make a Moroccan dish I’ve always wanted to try to cook.  I went to the Cooking with Alia because she has easy to follow recipes and videos.  I found her recipe for Msemmen- the Moroccan Pancake).  I had small pieces Alhumdullah when I was at the mosque for Iftar on two of the Fridays during Ramadan.  But, I guess I was really missing it so I thought I would give it a try.

I am the type of person that has to follow a recipe exactly and usually can not figure out what to do if something goes wrong.  Luckily my husband although he is not currently working as one, he is a trained chef.  While I was making the dish he even told me it was very difficult to make.  Alhumdullah I completed the recipe and we ate the Msemmen during Iftar time with honey, or cheese, or Moroccan sausage.

Leave a Reply

