New Muslim

As a new Muslim, I was happy in my new way of life as I grew closer to Allah.  But, I did struggle in the beginning, every community is different some are smaller with not that many resources.  I will share with you my experiences it may not be the same for everyone.

When first entering the masjid I was embraced with a huge welcoming and and greetings of Mashallah (“God has willed it”), a message of congratulations or appreciation.  I felt so excepted and excited about entering Islam.

Just after entering the masjid the next several times I felt overwhelmed and honestly alone.  I didn’t know what to do how to respond to people, I often was by myself or if something wasn’t quite right well with respect I was informed so.  I am also a very quite person and although I am friendly with people, I do not make friends that easily, and struggle with small talk.  If I am comfortable with you than you can tell I will talk with ease, but it doesn’t come naturally to me, I am more of an observer.  There is an article on MuslimMatters.com- New Muslim Series: After Shahada that you can read of a similar experience.

When you first become Muslim and even after, you may be Muslim your whole life and it is important to always continue your education and focus on Allah, Subhanahu Wa Ta’ala,” or “Glory to Him, the Exalted”,  inshallah (God Willing).

I did struggle to find information at first but, I will share with you some resources that I have found along the way.  There may be programs if not at the Masjid you belong to or even if you are not Muslim and want to find out more.  If not available at your local group possibly at a large Mosque.  For example I found that there was training for New Muslims at the Mosque in Boston, in a course Islam 101.

Other great resources are the WhyIslam site, also Productive Muslim, and Kalamullah.com.

2015-07-06 14.00.54

One thought on “New Muslim

Leave a Reply

